The FruitBat Holidays

Whoa. Christmas and New Years came and went so fast this year. Did you feel like it all snuck up on you?

We moved to Montreal about 11 days before Christmas so we were still recovering from jet lag by the time Christmas rolled around.

My Love and I decided on December 24th that we were going to exchange gifts. Yeah.

Decoration and presents all in one

Decoration and presents all in one

We were happy to share gifts with one another.  Do you find it weird to buy presents for your S.O when you share a bank account?

prezzies!

prezzies!

After that we spent we decided to try and go out for tea. I really wanted a nice, herbal specialty tea and My Love was game for an adventure. It was minus 1000 degrees, but we were sure that in Montreal there would be a million places open. This is a trendy town after all.

We walked to St. Catherines Street in search of hot beverages. We walked for about 20 minutes and came to realize that the only places that were open were a 24 hour Second Cup (why?) Tim Hortons, (Yup, still Canada) and a 50’s themed diner. We were going to choose Tim Hortons, but when we went in we realized that pretty much everyone in there was alone, and 50% were likely homeless.  A room full of really really sad people. I decided this was a little too sad on Christmas so we went to the diner.

The diner did not have tea on the menu, and My Love had to special order it for me. It was Red Rose.

My Love decided he was hungry, so he got a sandwich called the Marilyn Monroe. With fries. And a pickle.

So instead of a nice herbal tea at a tea shop we got a sandwich at a diner. This, kids, is what happens to you when you do not have a plan.

After that we walked home in the minus 1000 degree weather.

Then it was time for the traditional FruitBat holiday feast!

Mid juice action shot

Mid juice action shot

Essential.

Essential.

My Love got mashed potatoes with home made vegan gravy:

Because it is not Christmas without a little bit of carb fest.

Because it is not Christmas without a little bit of carb fest.

And the legitimately traditional carrot cake (I made him a carrot cake last year too for some reason.  Why?)

Christmas Carrot Cake.

Christmas Carrot Cake.

I even made an icing.

I had a watermelon and closed my eyes real tight and pretended I was in Thailand:

Om nom

Om nom

We skyped with our respective families and then called it a night.

On New Years, we did even less if you can imagine that. We decided to chance it AGAIN and headed out into the so cold weather in search of tea.  This time we headed through Park LeFontaine and over to St. Denise street.

Walkin in the park.

Walkin in the park.

I put on all my clothes for the occasion:

100 layers

100 layers

Again, we wandered aimlessly until we got too cold to think, and ended up at Starbucks.

I think he thought he may be able to see another tea place from the vantage point of starbies.

I think he thought he may be able to see another tea place from the vantage point of starbies.

I got a vanilla roiboos tea.

I got a vanilla roiboos tea.

He got a hot chocolate. And was angry for some reason?

He got a hot chocolate. And was angry for some reason?

But the streets were dead:

Dead street.

Dead street.

When we had sufficiently defrosted, we headed back home.

I Yoga’ed:

I am obsessed with handstand

I am obsessed with handstand

And Meditated:

Om

Om

Then made the all important liquid green beverage for the day:

Too little juice.

Too little juice.

And ate watermelon. Again.

Do I do the same things over and over again? Yes. Yes I do.

Do I do the same things over and over again? Yes. Yes I do.

We then snuggled up on the pull out, watched movies (My Love fell asleep and then woke up about 30 minutes before midnight)

Lounge boyfriend.

Lounge boyfriend.

We counted down, drank some Kombucha, wished our friends and family a happy new year and went to bed at 12:15.

Cuz we are crazy like that.

Clink clink!

Clink clink!

Happy New Year!!

 

Ps. I am on instagram now 🙂  You can see my daily goings on here – http://instagram.com/urbanfruitbat

2 thoughts on “The FruitBat Holidays

  1. Oh Happy New Years! We were a bit odd too, we went to bed 30 minutes before midnight. We celebrated Australia NYE since it was our morning and pretended we stayed up for ours… haha

Leave a comment