Huge Update Part 2~

Hello again my fruit feathered friend!

So, when we left off, we were in Chiang Mai, and had been in Thailand for about 3.5 months.

After finding out that he would not be able to keep his job, My Love took a little time off and helped me to write my book (which you can check out here if you like – perceptiondiet.com)

Then he started applying for jobs. He had a million interviews, and the process was actually really draining. We did learn a lot about visas, working internationally and all that jazz.  We originally thought he would be able to get a job someplace in Asia, but soon found out that was not a super real possibility.  He had lots of opportunity in America and Canada however.

By the end of November we had the choice to either renew our lease on our apartments, or go to hotel and assume we would be moving back to North America.  At this point My Love had a few very strong leads, so we decided to head to a hotel.

Baby sister had already decided she wanted to go home for Christmas, and would be returning to school in January.

We stayed at the Libra Guesthouses:

Juuuuuust enough room for all 3 of us.

Juuuuuust enough room for all 3 of us.

My Love basically had 1-2 interview per day for the last two weeks and even though everything was up in the air, we still had lots of fun.

Another amazing river side restaurant

Another amazing river side restaurant

DSC_0327

 

Then, finally it happened.  My Love decided to take a job in Montreal. This was around the 8th of December, and the company wanted us there for the Christmas party.  On the 16th. We literally found our we were moving about 4 days before we had to get on a plane and fly here.  So naturally to ease the anxiety of it all we went shopping so I would have something nice to wear to the Christmas party 🙂

Do you like my dress?

Do you like my dress?

 

And we dinned at Godzilla's place

And we dinned at Godzilla’s place

We decided to stay at a fancy place for our last 3 days and chose the Chiang Mai Orchid in Ninman.  It was a great choice.  We did one last round of shopping for the cold.

Yup. This happened.

Yup. This happened.

Then it was our last night together.  Baby Sister was flying to Calgary for Christmas and My Love and I were flying straight to Montreal.  We had our last dinner at Blue Diamond.

Our last meal. 3 salads and a tofu tomato dip, naturally.

Our last meal. 3 salads and a tofu tomato dip, naturally.

My Love and I sad to say good bye.

My Love and I sad to say good bye.

Don't leave me Baby Sister!

Don’t leave me Baby Sister!

Last real mango sticky rice for Baby Sister

Last real mango sticky rice for Baby Sister

Last "Tops" market trip for plane snacks

Last “Tops” market trip for plane snacks

That night there was much crying and gnashing of teeth, let me tell you.

The next morning at 4 am Baby sister got ready to head to the airport.  My Love and I did not fly out until that evening so we spent the day wandering around, getting a two hour massage and eating.

Alas, it was time for us to head to the airport:

This is a stress possition

This is a stress position

Tea in the Chiang Mai airport.  Black canyon is like their Swiss chalet.  But with tea.

Tea in the Chiang Mai airport. Black canyon is like their Swiss chalet. But with tea.

 

About 45 minutes later we were in Bangkok:

One last lemon iced tea

One last lemon iced tea

Always taking those artsy photos

Always taking those artsy photos

Next it was 4 hours to Seoul Korea!

My Love got the Muslim meal hoping for hummus.  That never happened.  Instead he got eggs.

Oh airplane food.

Oh airplane food.

I ordered the vegan meal hoping for some fresh fruit.  There was a little, but mostly it was polenta.

Interesting...

Interesting…

Seoul was pretty cool:

SO much kim chi in Korea :)

SO much kim chi in Korea 🙂

 

How does one choose between no. 1 and the best?

How does one choose between no. 1 and the best?

Veggie Bibimbap for My Love.

Veggie Bibimbap for My Love.

He was fading fast at this point.  He told me he did not think he would be able to sleep on the plane...

He was fading fast at this point. He told me he did not think he would be able to sleep on the plane…

Then it was 11 hours to Chicago.  For some reason we had no tickets for our flight from Chicago to Montreal at this point.  We thought it was strange.  We also only had about 2 hours once we got to Chicago to make our connection.  And we forgot to look at what air line we were supposed to be on.

Bahahahaha I knew he would sleep

Bahahahaha I knew he would sleep

Worst slop ever.  But it was airpot food so what do you expect really.

Worst slop ever. But it was airpot food so what do you expect really.

My Love got orange chicken?

My Love got orange chicken?

We got some sleep, watched some movies and generally just relaxed.

Bad ass mom.  Super cute kids!

Bad ass mom. Super cute kids!

Eggplant and tomato sauce.  I had the nice fruit and salad :)

Eggplant and tomato sauce. I had the nice fruit and salad 🙂

Once we landed in Chicago, we had to go collect our bags.  By the time we were done with that it was about 30 minutes to our flight. We had no tickets, did not know what gate we were meant to be at or which airline.

We found a lady who told us that we would either be with Air Canada or United. And that we had to take a TRAIN to the other terminal to the departures area. WHAT.

We did that, and found the Air Canada desk.  She did not have us on her flight. Right next to her was the United desk.  They did have us!  But it was only 20 minutes to our flight at that point. So we were too late. The nice lady put us on a flight that was 3 hours later and we made it through (crazy) American airport security.  They patted down a 70 year old lady…why?

We eventually made it to our gate, and it was a short 2.5 hour flight up to Montreal.

Good bye Asia, hello French Canada!

Onto the next adventure!

Onto the next adventure!

 

4 thoughts on “Huge Update Part 2~

  1. Oh your book sounds so wonderful! Would you mind if I shared the link with my readers? I have noticed a downward spiral with people writing about eating healthy and more with losing weight. Anorexia has not diminished but is only fueled by the diet industry. I think your book is a wonderful addition to those out there seeking happiness. Congratulations!

Leave a comment