Yogi Doing Yoga Things

Hey Bats!

Today I thought I would show you some of the things I have been working on in my practise!

If you do not know me, or if you are new to the Urban Fruit Bat world, let me quickly fill you in.  I love yoga. There, now you are caught up 🙂

I have been focusing on lots of back bends as of late.  Here are a few:

Head to Butt pose, I believe it is known as

Head to Butt pose, I believe it is known as

This is called Dhanurasana or Bow Pose.  Which leads me to try:

Feet to face.

Feet to face.

Padangustha Dhanurasana or Big Toe Bow Pose.  Soon my feet will touch my face.  Soon.

Then, I was inspired to try to grab my ankles in Urdhva Dhanurasana (Upward facing bow posture) by the rock star that is Kino –

And so I tried what she said to do:

A new way to look behind you

A new way to look behind you

First, you lean back as you would if you were just going to do a normal drop back.

My feet are behind me and in front of me at the same time.  Yoga is friggin weird.

My feet are behind me and in front of me at the same time. Yoga is friggin weird.

Then you try to reach for your ankles in the air.

No, that is not a super long eyebrow, that is a strand of hair posing as an eyebrow

No, that is not a super long eyebrow, that is a strand of hair posing as an eyebrow

Then you try to touch your finger tips to your heels

Yup.  Then this is what you are doing.

Yup. Then this is what you are doing.

Then just take one hand at a time back to grab your ankle.  Switch and try on both sides!  Fun!

I also am still addicted to going upside down.  I am still working my Pincha Mayurasana:

Just look at the floor like is the last think you will ever do.

Just look at the floor like is the last think you will ever do.

With my toes to head variation:

The trick is to lift your chest.  Or so I have been told.

The trick is to lift your chest. Or so I have been told.

Then I fall, with all the grace I posess

Show your hands who is boss by standing on them

Show your hands who is boss by standing on them

Last but not least, Handy Standy:

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I am still working the split leg version.  Soon to be the real thing, I promise.

What are you working on Bats?

5 thoughts on “Yogi Doing Yoga Things

Leave a Reply

