Another Day, Another Dip

Hey Friends!

Happy weekend!  Do you have any plans?  I am sure I will be fruit foraging and yoga doing.

This week, I decided I wanted to make some dip.  I used to be a MAJOR dip fiend.  As in, I am pretty sure I ate humus every day for at least a year when I first was playing with the idea of veganism.  After I went raw, I made a dip from spinach, avocado, lemon juice and salt, and ate that every day.  I am not sure what it is, but something about having a big plate of greens with something yummy to slather them in has always made me excited.

For this new dip, all you need are these things;

Just this this and this.

I have there some dill, zucchini, lemon, garlic, jalapeño, Cayenne (if your peppers are not hot enough for you) celery, stevia (you could use dates or any other sweetener you like, I just find it adds a nice balance) dulse and nutritional yeast.  I know what you are thinking.  DULSE?!  NUTRITIONAL YEAST!!  Are those ok to eat?!
Ok, relax.  Remember how I am always saying that you have to find what works for you? I find that FOR ME, I love the high mineral content of sea weed.  I do not eat it often, but when I do I find no adverse reactions.  So I eat it.  Same with the yeast.  This yeast is totally in-active, and it is packed with B-vitamins.  So, every once in a blue moon if I feel it is really going to add to a dish, I add it!  There are WAY worse things you could be eating than some sea veggies and nutritional yeast, I mean common.

For the dip making, first I blend the dulse and the nutritional yeast into a powder.  It incorporates better into the dip that way.

powderized!!

Then I finely grate in the garlic and lemon zest;

Finely grated tastes better.

I chop everything up into smaller pieces, to make it easier for the blender;

I used two hot peppers, and it was hot. You can absolutely cut down on the amount.

Place it all in the blender and letter rip;

Go Blendy go! I love that it is smooth. Blendy does not do chunks.

At this point, you should taste it and see how you like it.  It may need more acid, more sweet, more dulse.  If it is a fat day for you, you could add avocado or tahini.  You could also add sun-dried tomatoes to this for an extra cheesy kinda flavour.

It will look like this in the end;

All the green you could ever gulp.

I served mine with sprouts, lettuce and zucchini.  You could also dip beets or carrots or any other veggie you like!

So pretty, no?!

Every once in a while, it is nice to do something a little different.  Boredom need not play a role in this lifestyle!   I added the garlic and hot peppers to this because I felt a cold coming on, and I was not having it.  It cleared my sinuses right up!  Many people frown upon these foods, I still think they are like medicine.  To be taken when needed.

Let me know what you  think, and if you give this a try!

4 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Dip

    • OK! 1 tbsp dulse, 1 tbsp nut yeast, 1 clove garlic, one lemon zest, one whole lemon (just cut off the rind) .5 jalapeño pepper (add more to your liking) 3.4 cups chopped zucchini, 1 bunch dill, 1 tsp stevia (could use 2-3 dates). I added about 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar after I blended it because I wanted it more acidic. Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

