He told me he wanted cookies

Hey There guys!  How is the day going?

SO!  Yesterday was the token cook day around here, and I was a busy busy bee!  Here is how it all went down.

I started off making a large vat of home-made almond milk;

But, how do you MILK an almond?!

All I did for this was, soak almonds over night, then drain and rinse them.  I then put them into the magic bullet in small batches, covered in water and then strained through a sieve and a cloth.  I added a pinch of salt and some honey to the milk and that was that.  After I was done, I had a tray of almond pulp left;

Kinda like saw dust, kinda like good.

Which I transferred to the dehydrator.

After that it was Black Bean Chilli Time!  I (My Love)  first marinated (with my instruction) some crumbled tofu in soy sauce, miso, garlic, cumin, toasted sesame oil and paprika overnight, and then baked it at 375 for about 40 mins.

Like the veggie ground round you can buy, but less...weird.

I added that to a simmering pot of onions, garlic, bell pepper, tomatoes, tomato paste, cumin, chilli spice, soup stock, paprika, mustard, black beans, rice and water.  I ended up with this lovely dish;

And the never ending Wasa Crisps!

I then made myself a chocolate pie crust.  I used the almond flour, powdered coconut, cacao powder, dates, cinnamon and salt.

Dark chocolate pie crust. Complete with (clean) finger marks.

I stuck that in the dehydrator, wiped the sweat from my brow and decided it was time for a break.

I hung out with this guy;

Yep, he is ALWAYS this stoked to see me. Believe it or believe it.

And drank myself some green medicine.

The kale makes it magical.

When break time drew to a close, it was time to finish the pie!

I had some strawberries that I had been drying;

Poor strawb's so sad and shrivelled.

I powdered those, then mixed them with fresh blended strawberries, blended coconut, apple cider vinegar, dates, cinnamon and salt.  Voila!  Strawberry cheese cake!;

The salt and acv really make it "Cheese cake" like

Next it was time for something I was not all that happy to do, but it was requested to me by My Love, so I grinned and bared it.

I BAKED chocolate chip cookies.

Not that I used any ingredients that I find overly offensive, but still, it was not my most favorite thing to do.  It made the kitchen SO HOT, and I hate to ruin amazing ingredients with heat.  But they did come out pretty good…

Anywho, what I did was; blend some flax seeds, and let them soak in some water.  This was my “eggs.”  Next, I stirred in the rest of the almond flour, some whole wheat flour, one blended apple (this was instead of margarine or butter, bleck!) some natural cane sugar, cinnamon, salt, dates, baking powder, baking soda and of course, chocolate chips.  I scooped them out with my scoop. and baked them at 350  for 20 mins.  They came out soft and chewy on the inside crispy on the outside, and uber chocolaty.  They were a success even though I hated it.  And did not measure a single thing.  Baking is a precise science what?!

grumblegrumble..Stupid cookies...grumblegrumblegrumble

Last, but not least, it was ginger cookie time!

I started with my spice mix; which was fresh grated ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves;

This is what amazing smells like!

I then added that to a mixture of powdered oats, powdered coconut, powdered sunflower seeds, sucanant, molasses, salt and dates.  They looked like this;

Just hanging out in the dehydrator like all the other cool cookies do.

When all was said and done, it made a pretty beautiful dessert plate.

It's cookies and milk!...and...cheesecake!

And for the record, my Blendy is still out of commission, so all of this was made using nothing but a Magic Bullet.

Poor little guy, had to blend so much.

Have sympathy for me and the many many small batches of things I had to blend. (;

My dessert?  It was this;

One hundred percent taste and love explosion.

So you see, no matter what we people do to food, how we mould and shape and recreate it, it will never be as beautiful or as delicious as it is the way nature made it.  That is something I can totally live with.

2 thoughts on “He told me he wanted cookies

  1. Oh my, your lovely Man and Sis are super lucky to have such a wonderful chef in the house. That cheesecake looks divine! Hope your blender recovers soon, not sure how Hubby would cope minus the vitamix for smoothies. We are currently addicted to fresh OJ with all the bits, yum! Great post.

Leave a Reply

