Best Market Day Ever

Hey guys!  So what did you all think of my dessert post?  Yay or nay in more of those?

On Tuesday of this week, I was awakened from my afternoon nap session, with a feeling that I needed to go to the Market.  This is really nothing new for me, as I go there quite often, but on Tuesday the need felt especially strong.

So, I put my flip-flops on, emptied out my back pack and made my way down the hill to my very own home away from home;

To market to market I go.

I am so so so glad that I did.  I scored so many deals!

My first awesome deal was on mangoes.  They are rapidly going out of season, so their appearance in the shady bins is dwindling wildly.  I managed to get my hands on a few, for only three monies!

So many mangoes to go with all my other mangoes.

I had been craving papaya like no bodies business as of late as well, and lo and behold, one for a dollar!

I am eating him tonight, just so you know.

Next, I found these two containers filled with perfectly ripe figs, and was astonished that they were only charging a dollar each.  I know I sound like a broken record, but people, they charge like five dollars for two figs at times!

Beautius figgies

They came with an extra surprise;

Whatcha doin in there little blueb?

The best thing though, the reason I decided this post had to be written, was because of the guavas.  They were sitting in their normal spot, but they were REALLY ripe.  So I asked the lady if they were going to go on special, she said she would ask her boss.  She turned around and spoke to a man in a language I do not know, turned back to me and said “for you, half price.”  Oh yeah!  She actually said that!  For you!   I was so happy, I took all of the ones they had.

Six Monies people! Crazy!

I celebrated all my findings with a chai rooiboos.  And I smiled;

I ❤ tea

It is good to be a bat my friends.  It is good to be a bat.

6 thoughts on “Best Market Day Ever

  1. Oh, yay for mangoes! I just bought the last few spotty ones I could find today – I miss mango season already 😦 They have everything organic on a 3 for 2 offer in our local supermarket right now, which makes them cheaper than the non-organic ones! Yipee!

  2. I like the dessert post – it’s always fun to see what you come up with. But I confess to loving posts like these even more! Fruit rules. It’s still warming up here in Australia, so things like mangoes and papaya are still crazy-expensive, so I like living vicariously through your purchases, heh. 🙂

  3. Uh yeah, the one time I was able to find figs this year I got half as many per clamshell and they cost me five times as much. I still bought like, 20 dollars worth but STILL.

Leave a Reply

