The day of Aloo Tikki

Good day batty ones!  I hope your weekend is off to a great start!

Today, I am going to show you what happenes ever two weeks in my kitchen.  You see, I am a fruit bat through and through, so I never have to prepare food for myself as nature has already done that.   My Love and My Baby Sister both eat their fair share of fruit and veggie goodness too, but they feel the want for a little something special every now and then.

So on my days off, I make them raw foods!  It is gourmet stuff, lots of nuts and seeds, but you know what?  I would WAY rather see them eating raw nuts and seeds, with lots of veggies and fruits where I can manage to sneak them in, then any cooked alternative.  Plus, it is a cool creative outlet for me!  So really, it is a win win.

On the menu this cook day; Aloo Tikki, cooked hummus (but totally home cooked, as in I cooked the chickpeas myself, and left all the other components raw) Blackberry “cheese” cake, ginger bread cookies, and chocolate ginger bread cookies.

The Aloo Tikki started out with me putting some soaked sunflower and sesame seeds through my Champion.

Hahaha, eeew.

It looked like, not good.

I know I know, you just wanna take a spoon and tuck in.

The rest of the ingredients;

It's everything that was in my fridge except for my mangoes.

I chopped up the cilantro, parsley, spinach and green onion.  Gratted the zucchini, finely grated lots of ginger and garlic.  I blended the lemon, limes, red onion and a bit of the zucchini.  I then stirred it all together with the peas, corriander, cumin, paprika, soy sauce and mustard.  Then I formed them into patties, and put them in the dehydration box.

Mmmm, peas.

When all was said and done, I served two patties, with the home made hummus along side some pitta pocket.

Because who doesn't love hummus and pitta!?

Next we have the “cheese” cake!  I made the crust by blending gluten free oats, sunflower seeds and coconut.  I then mixed in some honey, cinnamon, soaked dates and molasses, and pressed it into a parchment lined pan.

Yep, finger marks make it better

For the filling, I blended some slightly dried black berries (that we foraged ourselves, if you didn’t read out blackberry picking post) soaked cashews, coconut, honey, irish moss, soaked dates, cinnamon, apple cider vinegar and salt.  The results were very purple!

Prettiest purple pie you ever did see!

The cross section;

Pie guts

Now, for the cookies.  First things first, for the spice mixture I blended cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, nutmeg, all spice, crystallized ginger and an orange.  Then I blended oats, cashews, sunflower seeds and coconut into a powder, added in some raw unprocessed dried sugar cane juice, my spice mixture along with some dates, and formed them into cookie shapes!

summer time Christmas cookies.

Next, I took the left over batter, added in more dates, cacao powder (raw chocolate powder) and formed those into cookies!

Chocolate and spices taste like amazing together.

After all of that, it was time to race off to my yoga therapy!   Fewf!

Do you make food for your family that you do not eat?  Any kitchen compromisers out there like me?

See you later with a new yoga post dawgs!

Leave a Reply

