I like to dip

Good day bats!

It is Sunday, and it is good.  I love lazy Sundays.  We slept in, cleaned the house a bit, went to the market, and walked around.  I even got a chance to talk with Baby Sister, who still will not be home for sooooo long.  But she is having a good time on her vacation, and that is what matters.

When I first went vegan, I was obsessed with dip.  I ate more humus than you could shake a stick at.  When I went raw, I made a dip from avocado, spinach, lemon juice and salt, that I devoured almost daily.

Over the years, dip has been scant in my life.  Especially as a fruitbat, I just didn’t really think about dip too much.  Lately, I have been missing it, so I came up with this little ditty, based on the dip I ate many moons ago.

Herbed avo-spinach dippity dip;

1 avocado

1 bunch spinach

1 bunch dill

1 bunch parsley

1 bunch mint

1 bunch basil

1 lemon

First, wash your spinach;

It has the roots, so you know its good.

Gather all the rest of your goods;

Lots of green! The lemon feels left out...

Chop up all your greens, zest and peel your lemon;

My chopping is no where near as bad as whats coming to you next little guys...

Put your lemon and your herbs into the Vitamix, or a blender.  You can even do this in a food processor, just juice the lemon separately and put the juice in.  The texture will be chunkier and less smooth, but still amazing.

Add the zest of the lemon for more zing!!

As your blender goes, feed in your greens through the top!!

Blend that S**t

Turn off your Vita.  Give it a kiss.

Next, cut your avocado in half.  It has to be ripe!  Do not use sub par avocado.  OK, that’s all I have to say about that.

Ommmnommmnommm

Hold the half with the pit in your hand, lightly tap the pit with your knife so that it sticks in, twist the knife gently, and remove that pit.

LIGHTLY tap! Not blood in the vegan kitchen, mkay?

Use a fork to smash up your avocado while it is still in its skin;

Resist eating it like this, the dip needs it!

Add your avo to your vitamix, blender or food processor.

If you left some avocado meat in the skins, you can eat it now.

Then just letter rip!  You will end up with this;

creamy dippy goodness

There you have it.  A bowl of creamy, vitamin and mineral rich, enzymatically charged, healthy fat full, zingy, herby goodness.  Yep, I am not out of adjectives.  I promise.

Serve with some sliced zucchini and cucumber.  Dip to your heart’s content.

2 thoughts on “I like to dip

Leave a Reply

