Different can still be great

Hey-o friends!

Today has been a pretty dreary Sunday for us here in V-town.  But My Love and I still made the best of it!  We busied ourselves with market trips, cooking food for him, mixing music and yoga-ing.  All in all, I would say this day was a success.

Earlier in this week, when it was still raining like it meant it, I ventured to the markets on my weekly big shop.  I a let down of sorts!  They had no Shady mangoes, which made my heart sad, and when I got to the far away market, they had no Cantaloupes!!  Imagine my dismay, knowing well how I feel about melons;

How I feel, is that I love them.

Instead of walking away empty-handed, I went for some Honeydew!!

I do love Honeydew, the only reason I don’t go for it as often, is because it is usually more expensive, and I am on a wee bit of a tight budget.  This week, caution was thrown to the wind, because a week without melon, is a week not worth doing at all.

I like my food neon

I treated my new melon like I would my old melon.  Cut off both ends, cut in half, scooped out and blended the seeds, peel and placed on a plate along with his new family;

So happy together, and finally not all yellow!

Honeydew live up to their name taste wise.  When they are ripe they are absolutely syrupy sweet with a texture that will melt in your mouth.   They are high in vitamin C, the B vitamins, copper and also potassium, which can help to regulate blood pressure!

I love my Honeydew, and I did not regret spending the extra cash.

Their pudding is pretty good too;

Sorta gloopy, but still good.

Honeydew, when mixed with some banana, makes an AMAZING ice cream too!

Don’t be afraid to try a new melon every once in a while.  You never know how much you will love it until you eat it!

 

Leave a Reply

