Figgy Love

Good day friends!

Yesterday morning, I was headed to yoga on the beautiful Granville Island, when my yoga buddy text messaged me that she could not join.  I will be honest and say that I was not all that disappointed.  The class would have been a Hatha class, which is generally it bit slow for my taste.  Since I was already down there, I figured I would hit up the market!

I am so glad I did, because I came away with these little gems;

We are just so small and cute!!

Figs!  Figs are a special treat here in Canada.  Their season is about five-minute long, and they are generally very expensive.  But for a few summer weeks, they are around, and reasonably priced.

Why eat figs?  They are high in potassium, which is good for blood pressure.  They contain calcium and magnesium, which are good for your bones.  They have a TONNE of fiber, which as we all know, is never a bad thing.  Figs contain tryptophan which can help with insomnia, as well as being just so darn tasty!

I ate mine with lots of other things;

I can't get over the strawberry guavas either

Seriously, we are adorable!!

Along with my plethora of fruity eats, I had some peppermint tea and goji berries;

Soaked gojis are excellent for digestion!

And some of the all important melon seed pudding.

puddingpuddingpuddingpudding

I was a happy camper.  So my friends, I need to say.  Run don’t walk, and get yourselves some figs.  You will not regret it.
Go fig yourself.

That’s right.  I said it.

Leave a Reply

